Skip to content

I love the Elemental Unrest bosses!

November 22, 2010

Why?

Because at least one DPS always ends up dead before the boss goes down.

I always warn people I’m not an ICC-geared tank when I join LFG (still gearin’ up the ol’ Pally, trying not to use my Justice Points), and I always ask them to give me a couple seconds to establish aggro and get, say, both Judgment and a Crusader Strike in after pulling with Exorcism+Avenger’s Shield. That usually gives me enough of a lead that a combination of Vengeance stacking up and using all my abilities properly lets me ride the razor’s edge and still retain threat.

Of course, some people ignore that request. I taunt the boss off them once to give them time to use their threat wipes or ease up on the damage so I can pull ahead again. More often than not, however, they simply keep on pressing their magical Kill-Stuff-Dead buttons. Once my taunt wears off, the boss looks at them funny, they turn into some sort of class-flavored goo on the floor, and the boss goes back to me. After that it’s usually smooth sailing.

I also love it when Kai’ju Gahz’rilla (great reference there) tosses me up and wipes threat. People simply keep on going, get splattered, and then the big lizard diligently turns back to give me its frozen love and attention. Flamelash is also a good one: I tell people to get out of the fire, the healer tells them to get out of the fire, yet they stand on the fire and get cooked.

I’m starting to enjoy 4-manning stuff.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 11:15

    I got cussed out for “being a failtank and losing threat on Gazrilla” the other day. Lack understanding of mechanics much? [Standing in front of the boss with the tank is bad too... especially if you're the healer].

    Was amused to watch the faildps get squished.

    • November 22, 2010 11:48

      It’s satisfying, isn’t it?

      I think the best part of those bosses was when the Hunter pulled Flamelash before I was ready. He didn’t even try anything smart, just straight out shot the guy in the face. I waited just long enough for the boss to turn him into a pancake, then taunted and moved on as usual. Apparently, he was too good to wait. And too good to Misdirect or Feign Death, too. :)

  2. Chawa permalink
    November 22, 2010 12:55

    I love these bosses – it’s a great wake up call to (sadly) typical PUG behaviour. I can only hope the holiday bosses (Athune, Horseman & the Dark Iron Dwarf) get tweaked so!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

