Skip to content

Spoiled Alt: tastes like lactose-free yoghurt!

March 25, 2010

So, I finally noticed I have one character of each class in my current server, and that my Rogue bank alt is the only one I had never tried to level up. In fact, until this afternoon he was still level 1, sitting pretty in Stormwind. Some deliberation later, I decided to bring my average level in this Realm up, use my DK as bank, reroll that Human into a Dwarf (what else?) and give Rogues yet another chance.

Yes, “yet another“. I’ve tried to level four Rogues so far, and I think the highest leveled one topped out at 32… before I switched servers. It was hard, due to the lack of control and squishiness, and boring, due to the utter lack of options early on.

I ended up going Subtlety on the guy I eventually pushed past level 20, but I was still feeling too much like I was a papier-mâché cannon: anything that survived my Ambush would easily take me down to 50% health, thus eliminating any chance of chain-pulling, before I could kill it. Then his nearby friend would look at me funny and I would be forced to blow a cooldown or just run like hell and waste a ton of time. Of course, I could just go Combat, but I had to try really hard not to bring a Power Drill to my head after hacking my way through two levels as Combat..

Nevertheless, I still want to get a Rogue to level 80. It’s one of those classes so iconic I can’t resist it. Getting regularly ganked by Rogues while on my Hunter also makes me want to have a taste of it. Dagger envy? Guilty as charged.

So what did I do this time? Heirloom Shoulders, Chest, double PvP Daggers (I had a lot of Shards, plus Rogues do look better with them), agility enchants… my baby rogue is now my most spoiled Alt ever. Got her to level 9 so far in one sitting. It’s still boring but not hard at all. As expected, considering the humongous gear gap between what I have and what the content was made for. I’m going Subtlety again, because daggers are fun and it’s my opinion that Rogues should use daggers. Let’s see how far I can take her.

Plus I now have my very own Female Dwarf Rogue! How cool is that?!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 08:54

    Good luck on the leveling process, having rolled Rogue 3 times myself (maxed on each expansion) Im aware of how frustrating it is.

    Having deleted all my Rogue toons (Yup I regret it now)Im looking to go back to my favourite class but have decided to wait until Cataclysm releases.

    Being back as Alliance I think that a Worgen rogue will just be too good to resist so little point in me starting one at the minute.

    Anyway good luck, I’ll keep tabs on your progress.

    • March 26, 2010 09:13

      Got any tips for the early level Rogue drudge? =)

      Also, I suspect there will be a flood of level 1 Worgen Rogues in the starting areas… followed by a trickle of level 85 Worgen Rogues by the endgame. It should be interesting to see whether the changes to the game mechanics and the redesigned world will make Rogue leveling require a little less commitment.

  2. March 26, 2010 10:26

    Umm just stick in there, I dont think you feel like a rogue until you hit the 20+ ,mark and get ambush, vanish etc but even then it doesnt get any less painful lol. In saying that being a lover of the assassination tree, mutilate is when the fun starts to kick in and big numbers start to follow.

    As for the influx of Worgen Rogues….yup Im counting on it. What Im also counting on is people will no doubt drop it when they realise playing a rogue isnt as simple as they first thought 😉

    One thing I would add to lower level rogues is fan of knives at around level 20. It doesnt have to be high damage but it should offer the rogue slightly better survivability againts groups of mobs.

    • March 26, 2010 10:52

      Fan of Knives at level 20…? Mhm. I think it would help in Dungeons, but not so much with Leveling. Area attacks are handy when you have either a tank or lots of weak mobs to kill, if three mobs can kill a Rogue before he can get rid of them one by one, FoK is not going to help too much.

      What I’d give them, though, is a nerfed version of Blade Flurry as a baseline ability. It would have only the extra target in this version, and a 5 minute cooldown. It would be usable from Stealth and only start counting as soon as you hit something. If you go Combat, then you would have the extra attack speed and a much reduced cooldown to boot. Also, Preparation would not reset it.

      I think that would serve as a good emergency button that doesn’t simply reset the fight, without overpowering them in the late game. Well, at least not within 5 minutes. =P

  3. March 26, 2010 15:04

    It’s a completely different playstyle from any other class. Feeling powerful as a Rogue comes from effectively using stealth and picking off your enemies one at a time. By the time you’re two shotting all of the mobs in your mid 20’s to 30’s it shouldn’t take too much time either. Let me know if you need any help with it.

    – Sam

    • March 26, 2010 22:44

      After a nice leveling binge this afternoon, I got the baby Rogue up to level 19 so far. I see your point here: it feels really awesome to Sap one mob in a patrol so the others keep walking past aggro range, open with a deliciously over-the-top Ambush crit, then move on to do it to the next mob in the patrol. That’s great stuff.

      On the other hand, being caught in the open or having an add walk into the fight at such low level quickly turns a controlled fight into a “Please tell me Evasion is off cooldown!” situation. Nevertheless, it’s still fun, staying so long in the planning stage and having the fight last the exact four seconds needed for Stealth to come off cooldown again. I think the only other character I need that sort of planning with is my Marksmanship hunter when I’m hunting down elites.

      Let me thank you for the Subtlety leveling guide, by the way. It’s a great piece of writing there. Who knows, if this alt is successful, maybe I’ll end up bringing Roguery up as a new “official” subject here.

    • March 29, 2010 01:52

      Alright, I’ll give you no big speech here, just two nice juicy questions:

      What poisons should I be using while leveling from the 30s on? I have the full spectrum of damaging poisons available to me, it seems hardly fitting to keep using Instant/Instant.

      And what finishers should I be using? For bread-and-butter, run-of-the-mill one-ambush-and-two-poison-procs mobs, and against tougher stuff? Eviscerate just doesn’t seem to pull such good numbers for its cost now I got Hemo and all the other finishers.

      • March 29, 2010 07:28

        are you using gouge or blind to get time to bandage etc often? If so you need to take this into consideration when picking what poisons you are using. Also if you are burning down mobs fast is it worth applying a dot poison at this stage?

        I’d go for deadly – instant on dungeon runs and instant – instant on solo play *shrug* been a while since I’ve played my rogue right enough.

      • March 29, 2010 10:41

        Pitrelli’s got the same advice I’d give you. Dual Instant while soloing, and Instant-Deadly when instancing.

        Eviscerate can be weak at this point, but if you’re on a tougher mob, ghostly strike and Evasion should keep you pretty much unharmed for the first 50% of your assault. Using a Kidney shot instead of an Eviscerate can also help your survivability. In an instance, it Rupture will do more damage than Eviscerate if it will fully tick out.

        As for the Sub guide, thanks; I’m glad you like it. It’s my goal for tomorrow to update it. Nothing major is needed, just some tweaking of tooltips and removal of the obsolete information.

        – Sam

Leave a Reply

