Skip to content

Spoiled Alt: the Formative Levels.

March 27, 2010

And here we are, level 21 on the Rogue, complete with a large stock of poisons and a Red Defias mask. It was a mostly boring ride up to level 18, where Ambush showed up to spice things up with the occasional 100-to-20% critical hit sending the mob attempting to run away in fear. At level 20, poisons made watching the numbers floating up a more interesting game, too.

However, the squishiness is still there. Not counting the times I had to hit orange-level mobs, single mobs are toast. On the other hand, even two-mob groups are giving me trouble sometimes. Sapping one mob and killing its partner faster than you can say “loquacious scoundrel” is easy, but having to deal with the second mob takes me right back to the pre-Ambush levels: Gouge, Backstab, Ghostly Strike (only difference here), Eviscerate. And that is, honestly, not a whole lot of fun. Three+ groups make it even worse, with a lot of running, screaming and quaffing down health potions (which thankfully seem to be dropping pretty often) quickly ensuing.

(EDIT! Here’s a good example of what I’m talking about: in Redridge Mountains, in the orc-occupied fortress, there’s a group of three Orcs standing close to each other. Sapping one of them takes it out of the equation, and I kill the caster next. The second guy takes me down to around 60% health, and the third, once he wakes up from the Sap, takes me further down to 25%. There’s a lot of bandaging and eating involved afterwards.)

Catching patrolling mobs one by one is really satisfying, specially considering patrols are the kind of mob I hate the most on my other characters. That’s a nice change. However, while I know the potential for fun in the Rogue is up ahead, as I enter the 20s, boredom and frustration are starting to rear up their ugly heads.

Maybe I just need a better leveling zone. Redridge Mountains and Wetlands are, quite frankly, annoying to traverse for the tenth time. Any suggestions?

One Comment leave one →
  1. pitrelli permalink
    March 29, 2010 13:21

    hmm I usually visit Darkshire as early as I can due to the Worgen Quests but pretty much did dungeons at low levels on my most recent project.

    I agree Redridge is very painful but I think alliance overall get a raw deal with zones and questlines early on.

Leave a Reply

