Skip to content

Healing gives me a headache…

April 14, 2010

And I’m currently nursing one to the soothing sound of Juno Reactor. Ah, goa trance…

Either way, I can’t heal.

I love healers. After all, they keep my sorry butt alive. But, as much as I’d love to, I can’t heal to save my life. Literally.

What happens? Well, I’m a fairly reasonable healer. My Priest has no problems keeping the tank up, and my Resto Druid can keep people up pretty much indefinitely even against bosses (although that’s probably a credit to the spec instead of my skills), and I quite like the idea of keeping people alive through spells as opposed of doing it through shouting really loud and getting beaten on. Healing is fun!

Aaaaand, it leaves me with a whopper of a headache. Not sure why.

Tanking is what I do best. It’s satisfying most of the time, and frustrating when people don’t cooperate. DPS is cathartic: good for when I’m tired of tanking and just feel like pumping some targets full of ridiculous amounts of lead (preferably while Misdirecting to the tank, I’m not an idiot!) . Healing is also fun, but very, very stressful. Maybe that’s the problem.

Maybe it’s the tunnel vision of staring at health bars, then at my mana bar, then at the mobs, then at stuff on the ground… Or maybe it’s just the perfectionist in me wanting to keep everybody topped up. Sometimes people die, rarely the tank bites the dust, but pain always ensues.

I wonder how the really hardcore healers can do it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 00:24

    Healing is a lot like whack-a-mole. Or maybe that cartoon where the dam is about to break and Tom sticks his finger in the hole, only another gusher bursts somewhere else and eventually he runs out of fingers and toes to stop the leaks. Yeah, that’s what healing reminds me of. 😀

    I love it.

    I haven’t got the hang of tanking yet, though.

    • April 16, 2010 08:47

      I salute you!

      Because I can’t do that kind of stuff. I’m good with playing whack-a-mole with mobs, hitting them as soon as they start looking at the DPS funny, but doing that with other players? Somehow, it doesn’t work for me.

      It seems some people have it easier with tanking, others with healing, and some people can’t do anything other than DPS… Hey, who knew we could have variety in the playerbase! If everybody could do everything just as well, we’d all be complaining to Blizz about how dual-spec isn’t enough! =P

Leave a Reply

