Skip to content

Just grin and Bear it

May 17, 2010

Two weeks of inactivity, not much to show for it.

I’ve been all sorts of busy lately. Between drawing, writing, wasting my life over at TVTropes.org (don’t visit it if you value your productivity) and trying to go back to waking up at 05:30 on weekdays due to my university finally coming off strike, I haven’t been able to do much, or even think too much about World of Warcraft. Lots of things are happening even as the pre-expansion lethargy sets in.

I found out I won’t be able to Raid this semester unless I find a new group that runs on evenings from Friday to Sunday. Being four hours ahead of server time, even “early” raids such as 17:30 can end prohibitively late for someone who has a hour and a half commute just to get to his morning classes. Ah, well. I guess that at this point it’s simply easier to just wait until Cataclysm drops and take any PuGging chances until then. I should start saving up for it already. Don’t want to miss the Progression Raiding boat again.

On more positive news, I’ve managed to get working on my Feral Druid. Now wait a second…

Read the title again.

It’s okay, you can groan now.

Booyah, nothing like an incredibly lame Bear pun to get the ball rolling again!

Anyway, I didn’t mean that character to be a tank. Bears are fun to play, what with all the Swiping and Mauling and hitting casters with instant low-cooldown high-threat ranged attacks, but I feel so horribly Rage-starved it hurts sometimes. The problem, of course, is that Kitty Druids (also lots of fun to play) have the kind of rotation my poor shriveled “Hit Stuff As It Comes Off Cooldown” Warrior brain simply can’t wrap itself around.

Well, that and I can’t play melee decently. I keep expecting the mobs to stand still and forget that they shouldn’t be attacking me. Tank mentality, I guess? Doesn’t matter: the Dungeon Finder queues are still obscenely short for tanks anyway. Two more dungeons like that and I’m fairly sure my Druid will hit 80 and probably not see much gameplay as I already have two characters that need to be geared up…

Until then, I’ll keep trying to adapt to my university schedule again.

PS: at long last, my Warrior can go around on fast flying mounts! What a difference some more speed makes!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lazaros of Llane permalink
    May 18, 2010 20:50

    Good to see you around still, even if frantically trying to catch up on life.

    Cat priorities aren’t too bad, if you have a decent add-on to help you get used to maintaining all of your buffs and debuffs. (I used Bad Kitty.)

    Bears are a blast, and FFF is, indeed, a nice little package of ranged threat. I like playing the game of seeing how long I can leave a caster at range, but aggroed on me by just using that one spell.

    It’s good to see that there are others with the aggro problem. If I don’t see nameplates saying I have aggro, I start to weird out. This usually ends up in a dead kitty or Arms warrior.

    • May 19, 2010 10:19

      It’s always funny to see people’s reactions when you say “Whoops, sorry! My main is a tank, force of habit” after needing a Rez.

      As for Feral DPS, my philosophy is: if I need an AddOn to play a class properly, that class is too complex or uncomfortable for me. Kitties are fun, but have that problem (I’m destroying DPS charts when everything goes right, and staying right at the bottom when they’re not), so are Death Knights (I need AddOns to keep track of Runes). I think I can get Kitty DPS right once I internalize all the timers needed to play it, but they still have a horrible issue:

      They’re not dwarves. 😛

      (The actual problem: Night Elf male models make me cringe, and they’re so big the world feels slow when not in form.)

      • Lazaros of Llane permalink
        May 19, 2010 12:40

        I’m right behind you there. I support Dwarven Druids. Bobcat and Wolverine forms, go!

        I feel you on the addons. I prefer to internalize, with exception of having large timers nearish the action so that I can see at a glance what is or isn’t up (if there’s no icon, it’s not up).

        Coming from the other side, I’ve got both aspects of Feral down, but can’t Warrior tank for the life of me. Still feels too complicated, like there’s too much that needs to be done inside one GCD.

Leave a Reply

